INTERVIEW: My Chemical Romance’s Ray Toro // triple j

I don’t usually interview mainstream artists, but when I do, I royally antagonise their PR people. The thing about engaging in media relations with “pop” musicians is that it’s not really an interview. There is always some graceless industry golem sitting in attempting to redirect the flow of the conversation straight into the nearest promo reservoir, and I hate that. I particularly disliked the pompous British asshole who sat in on this yarn with My Chemical Romance guitarist, Ray Toro. This was for triple j magazine #57, and I hadn’t had my morning coffee yet so I was having none of that guy’s shit. Neither was Ray, pleasingly, who pretty much told him to STFU at one point.

It had to be edited on its way to the printers because some harsh words were spoken at one point, but overall, awesome.

//

Say something.

